The Leonard Bernstein Edition – Concertos and Orchestral Works – Discs 37 – 40

Disc 37 

Georges Bizet

Carmen Suite No.1

Carmen Suite No. 2

L’Arlesienne Suite No.1

L’Arlesienne Suite No.2

Julius Baker on flute, David Wilson on violin and William VAcchiano on cornet. 

The New York Philharmonic

Disc 38

Jacques Offenbach – Gaite Parisienne

Franz von Suppe – Die schone Galanthee – Overture

Ferdinand Herold – ZAmpa – Overture

Ambroise Thomas – Raymond – Overture

The New York Philharmonic

Disc 39

Johaness Brahms

Akademische Festouverture op.80

Tragische Ouverture op.16

Serenade No.2 in A major op.16 for small orchestra

Variations on a Theme by Joseph Haydn op.56a

New York Philharmonic

Disc 40

Benjamin Britten

The Young Person’s Guide to the Orchestra op.34 – Variations and Fugue on a Theme of Purcell

versions perfomed with and without narration

Four Sea Interludes op.33a from Peter Grimes

Passacaglia op.33b from Peter Grimes

Suite on English Folk Tunes “A Time There Was..” op.90

Narration by Henry Chapin

Leonard Bernstein

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s