The Jazz Standards Project – Airegin

Airegin – or Nigeria spelled backwards was composed by Sonny Rollins.

Ted Gioia recommends versions by Miles Davis with Sonny Rollins (1954) and with John Coltrane (1956), Art Pepper (1959), Wes Montgomery (1960), Phil Woods (1974), Maynard Ferguson (1977), Michael Brecker and David Friesen (1993) and Chris Potter (also from 1993).

I found a lovely version by the Brad Mehldau Trio on their album Where Do You Start (2012)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s