Boston Symphony Orchestra Live Tonight with Andris Nelsons

Andris Nelsons has put on his first series of nights with the BSO ahead of his 2014 appointment as Music Director.

Wagner – Siegfried Idyll

Mozart – Piano Concerto No 25 in C, K.503, with Paul Lewis on Piano.

Brahms – Symphony No.3 in F, op.90

Interestingly the hall has fantastic acoustics for the audience (from the orchestra) but the sound of the audience is strangely muted despite the standing ovation. The conductor is one of the new young guns…..certainly a lively performance but I just had the slightest feeling that he was slightly ahead of the orchestra, or the orchestra was slightly behind…..nonetheless the Brahms is a lovely piece.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s